Montgomery County Clerk of Courts Russ Joseph raises more than $50,000 in just 10 weeks

January 31, 2018

Montgomery County Clerk of Courts Russ Joseph reported raising more than $50,000 in his first campaign finance report filed today with the Board of Elections.

This is Joseph’s first finance report filed since his appointment as Clerk of Courts on November 20, 2017.  He reported donations from more than 200 unique contributors in just 10 weeks that totaled $50,710.

“I am thrilled with the broad support I have received in just a short period of time,” Joseph said.  “I’ve been excited to get to work in the Clerk’s office and I appreciate this strong support from throughout the community.  This helps my efforts to continue to provide great service to the citizens of Montgomery County from their Clerk of Courts.”

The Clerk of Courts is responsible for maintaining accurate court records for the General and Domestic Relations Divisions of the Common Pleas Court, the Second District Court of Appeals and the County Municipal Courts; as well as issuing and maintaining auto titles at five convenient offices around the county.

Russ previously served for ten years as Chief Deputy Clerk for Dayton Municipal Court. In 2008 Russ was named the Deputy Clerk of the Year by the Ohio Association of Municipal & County Court Clerks. Russ currently serves as a Trustee for the SW Ohio Municipal Court Clerks Association. He’s also a member of the National Association for Court Management, the Ohio Clerk of Courts Association and the Ohio Association of Municipal & County Court Clerks.

Russ was a double major at the University of Dayton where he earned degrees in Sociology and Political Science. He is also a Certified Court Manager, having completed a multi-year program through the National Center for State Courts Institute for Court Management and the Judicial College of the Ohio Supreme Court.

Active in the community, Russ and his wife Katie are Associate Board Members of the Boonshoft Museum of Discovery (2015-Present). Russ served on the Landmarks Commission for the City of Dayton (2009-2017), he was Board President and Member of the Board of Directors for the House of Bread (2005-2014) and Trustee of the Oregon Historic District Society (2012-2013).